Delta Sigma Theta Expels 'Sorority Sisters' Cast Members

'Sorority Sisters' is over. VH1 quietly aired the final episodes of the season last week.

But before the show was killed, the cast members who belonged to Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. were expelled.

According to the organization's website, Priyanka Banks, Lydia Mitchell, Metoya Monroe, Adrene Ashford, and Shanna McCormick were expelled on January 13, 2015.
Here's what their explusion means:

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.'s Marks are the exclusive property of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. The right to wear, use, or display any items or merchandise with any Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Marks ("paraphernalia") is granted to those in good standing only.

Therefore, all individuals listed in this section must refrain from wearing any paraphernalia or using any merchandise that includes references to Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., its symbols or logos. Wearing or using Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. paraphernalia is knowingly engaging in fraudulent misrepresentation and impersonation, i.e., conveying that you are a member of the organization.

Furthermore, attending "Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Only" activities or otherwise engaging in any conduct or activities that indicate membership in Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is prohibited. Should any individual fail to abide by the aforementioned guidelines and/or fraudulently misrepresent her status as a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., you will be subject to legal action taken against her by the organization.

Clearly the organization exercised its right to discipline members for activities they feel violate their code of conduct.

This comes after two members of Alpha Kappa Alpha were suspended until 2016.

In case you're interested, the women sat down to discuss their motivations for doing the show and thoughts on the backlash they've received.

Photo: VH1

Kimberly Foster is the founder and editor of For Harriet. Email or